My Photo
Location: Dublin, Republic of, Ireland

Wednesday, 2 April 2008

All these delicious titles cropping up...

Announced today, are eight shortlisted titles from 137 worldwide library nominations, that will face a standoff for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; to be handed to the winner on June 12th, 2008.

These are:

a) Winterwood by Irish author Patrick McCabe (Bloomsbury)
b) The Speed of Light by Javier Cercas (Spanish)
c) The Sweet and Simple Kind by Yasmine Gooneraratne (Sri Lankan)
d) De Niro's Game by Rawi Hage (Lebanese)
e) Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones (Australian)
f) Let it be Morning by Sayed Kashua (Israeli)
g) The Attack by Yasmina Khadra (Algerian) &
h) The Woman who Waited by Andrei Makine (Russian)

The award is worth a 100,000 euros and is the world's most valuable literary prize, awarded to a single work of fiction published in English.

Dare I order the lot and read them all? Perhaps after all, I will. :-)

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home